Is Vodka Gluten Free? All You Really Need to Know

Eric Ginsburg

Looking for gluten-free vodka options? Our explainer walks through the facts.

Whether you have celiac disease, gluten intolerance, or are trying to avoid it for another reason, you may be wondering — is vodka gluten free?

Let's walk through the basics so you can have peace of mind the next time you're making Jello shots or one of our popular vodka drink recipes.

Is Vodka Gluten Free Photo

The Essentials of Gluten-Free Vodka

Let's cover the most important facts right up front to avoid any confusion:

  • All vodka is gluten-free, unless some ingredient or flavor has been added to it. 
  • The distillation process removes any gluten protein from the final product, regardless of the original ingredients, according to Scientific American.
  • For that reason, all distilled spirits are considered gluten-free — again, unless gluten has somehow been added back in via an ingredient after distillation, according to the National Celiac Association.
  • Some vodkas and other spirits are certified gluten-free, meaning the final product has been tested for gluten.

Here's a helpful quote to illustrate this succinctly:

"According to the FDA, all distilled spirits, including vodka, are gluten-free." —Celiac.com

Is Vodka Gluten Free Picture

But, as beyondceliac.org explains, reality isn't always quite that black-and-white. 

"Yes, pure, distilled vodka, even if made with wheat, barley, or rye, is considered gluten-free," it explains. "Most vodkas are safe for people with celiac disease because of the distillation process. However, be on the lookout for hidden gluten in vodkas that may add flavorings or other ingredients after distillation."

After looking at dozens and dozens of vodka company sites and reading countless articles and posts online, I've yet to find a vodka that is confirmed to contain gluten. I'm not saying they don't exist, just that nothing credible points to a particular vodka to avoid.

So if you're not particularly concerned, any commercial vodka will do. If you're mildly concerned, maybe skip flavored vodkas. Other people choose to avoid vodkas made from wheat, even though gluten protein is stripped out during the distilling process. And some will choose to only consume vodka that's certified as gluten free.

Where you fall on that spectrum is your call — or your doctor's, maybe — but here's more information to help you make an informed decision.

And remember, in general, alcohol isn't the healthiest choice anyway. (Yes, I'm still drinking it, but it's worth stating.)

Is Vodka Gluten Free Image

Is "Gluten-Free Vodka" Just Marketing?

Yes and no. Some people would argue that this branding plays on people's fears, and we can see products like water that never contained gluten being sold to us this way. But a not insignificant portion of people with celiac's disease say they have a reaction to certain spirits, according to the same Scientific American piece.

If you're one of those people, or want to be extra careful, a certified gluten-free product may be better for you. And in that sense, it isn't a gimmick, but a helpful label that at least some consumers greatly appreciate. Alternately, you could choose to stick to plain, unflavored vodka brands.

Let's walk through some specific brands and what you can expect from them.

Is Vodka Gluten Free Pic

Is Deep Eddy Vodka Gluten Free?

Yes, all Deep Eddy vodka is gluten free. If you're curious, it's made from 100% corn, though that shouldn't make a difference.

Is Truly Vodka Gluten Free?

Yes, Truly Flavored Vodkas are all gluten free, according to the company's website.

Is Ketel One Botanical Vodka Gluten Free?

Vodka company Ketel One currently sells three botanical blends — Grapefruit & Rose, Cucumber & Mint, and Peach & Orange. However, like all of the products on its website, there is no information listed about gluten or gluten-free.

We can't speak to the added flavor ingredients in these specific products. Ketel One will have to do that. 

Related: Is Ketel One Vodka gluten free? As stated above, all vodkas are naturally gluten-free, and it's original unflavored vodka is likely a safer bet. Your risk tolerance is up to you and may depend on your specific health situation.

Is Vodka Gluten Free Martini Glasses

Is Pink Whitney Vodka Gluten Free?

A New Amsterdam product with Barstool Sports co-branding and made with pink lemonade, Pink Whitney's website does not say anything about being gluten-free. New Amsterdam's website also contains no information.

Considering that New Amsterdam does sell an explicitly gluten-free vodka, it does make you wonder what's been added to Pink Whitney.

Our advice? Grab a different vodka brand and some pink lemonade — after reading the labels on both — and make your own.

Related: Is New Amsterdam Vodka Gluten Free? We recommend buying the previously mentioned New Amsterdam vodka that has the gluten-free label plastered right across the front and baked into the name of the vodka!

Is Absolut Vodka Gluten Free?

Yes, Absolut's original and flavored vodkas are all gluten free, according to the company's website!

Is Smirnoff Vodka Gluten Free?

Yes — according to the Smirnoff website, in the U.S. its vodkas are made from corn and explicitly gluten-free!

Related: Is Smirnoff Raspberry Vodka gluten free? Based on the company's site, it seems clear that all Smirnoff vodkas are gluten-free. If it makes you feel even more secure, multiple retailers selling the raspberry flavor specifically list it as gluten free (and kosher).

Orange Blossom Vodka Martini Image

Is Grey Goose Vodka Gluten Free?

Yes, Grey Goose vodka is gluten free, according to the company's website!

Is Tito's Vodka Gluten Free?

Yes, Tito's is gluten free and made from corn. 

The company's website addresses this explicitly, saying, "Tito's Handmade Vodka is certified Gluten-Free by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization. Some folks add a bit of mash back into the spirit after distillation, which could add gluten, but not us."

Tito's in a Can Photo

Is Stoli Vodka Gluten Free?

It sure is! According to Stoli's website, its vodka is made from corn and is gluten free.

Is Belvedere Vodka Gluten Free?

Some retailers describe it as gluten free. The company's website doesn't address the matter. As long as there are no additives or flavors with gluten (which there shouldn't be), it is likely safe. We recommend you read the label on a bottle yourself, if you're particularly concerned.

Is Svedka Vodka Gluten Free?

Yes it is! Svedka's website explicitly emphasizes that its vodkas are gluten free, which should apply to the flavored varieties as well. 

Thanks for making my job easier and spelling it out in large print!

Blonde Espresso Martini Photo

Is Kirkland Vodka Gluten Free?

Yes, it is. The Gluten-Free Certification Organization lists Kirkland American Vodka as one of its certified gluten-free vodkas.

(This list does not appear to be even remotely exhaustive, otherwise there wouldn't be a need for me to write this.)

Kirkland vodka is from Costco, and Slate argued earlier this year that it's the best vodka, in general.

Is Absolut Citron Vodka Gluten Free?

Yes, Absolut's website confirms this product is free of gluten!

Is Three Olives Vodka Gluten Free?

Good news — it is! The Three Olives website says right up front that its flavored vodkas don't have gluten.

24 Carrot Cocktail Recipe Photo

Is Wheatley Vodka Gluten Free?

Yes, Wheatly Vodka is explicitly gluten free, according to the company website.

Is Seagrams Vodka Gluten Free?

The Seagrams website does not address this question. It is likely gluten free (so long as nothing was added after distillation).

Is Skyy Vodka Gluten Free?

Yes it is! According to the Skyy vodka website, this product is gluten free.

Bloody Mary Recipe Image

Is Effen Vodka Gluten-Free?

The Effen website does not address this question. It is likely gluten free (so long as nothing was added after distillation).

Is Pinnacle Vodka Gluten Free?

Pinnacle Vodka's website doesn't seem to contain the word "gluten" anywhere. A post on the blog My Gluten Free Girlfriend claims that all Pinnacle flavors are gluten-free, but we can't independently verify what additives and flavors are used. Again, like very distilled spirit, it is likely gluten-free, but this is your call.

Christmas Mule Recipe Pic

Remember, nobody at Food Fanatic is a medical professional, and this information is all accurate as of publication, but we always recommend you read the labels on any product you're consuming, if needed. Oh, and you need to be 21+ to drink alcohol in the United States.

Eric Ginsburg is the Editor of Food Fanatic. He's served as an editor at three newspapers and written for a wide range of publications, including Bon Appétit, Serious Eats, Wine Enthusiast, Southern Living, and Eater Carolinas. He lives in Raleigh, North Carolina. Follow him on Instagram.

Tags: , ,
Eric Ginsburg

About Eric

Eric Ginsburg is the Editor of Food Fanatic. He's served as an editor at three newspapers and written for a wide range of publications, including Bon Appétit, Serious Eats, Wine Enthusiast, Southern Living, and Eater Carolinas. He lives in Raleigh, North Carolina. Follow him on Instagram @eric_ginsburg.